And there were smoothie bowls for all!

I recently stumbled stalked across an old friends Instagram, who now resides in New York and seems to always be doing amazing things. One day she posted some photos of this mess of a bowl filled with what appeared to be purple mush, fruit, and nuts; it had me at hello. As I did more research I found out about this new smoothie bowl fad and just knew I had to jump on that boat.

One morning I was feeling extra adventurous and woke up early to make my boyfriend and I our first smoothie bowls before work.

Image

I was astonished by how filling and delicious these were and how much variety one could add to their bowl. My favorite thing about these is my boyfriend loves them! We sort of have this running joke about thinking the other is a picky eater. Being essentially a vegan, my Texas boy is not accustomed to my eating habits at all- tofu and quinoa pretty much disgust him, to put it dramatically. In my defense, dietary needs and picky-ness are two different things but, in his defense I do not like any Italian food, pizza, really anything with bread or gluten. So to an Italian food lover i may seem a little picky.

As a couple with two totally opposite food cravings it sometimes feels like a struggle to make him food he will really enjoy. To be able to make a nutritious and filling breakfast makes me feel pretty accomplished.

Image

The Smoothie:

Serving Size: 2

1 C organic orange juice

1 C almond milk or coconut water

4 frozen strawberries

4 frozen mango chunks

5 frozen blueberries

1 handful of fresh spinach

1 handful of fresh kale

1 heaping tablespoon of protein powder of choice (I use cookies and cream Spiru-Tein)

Blend well and pour into two bowls.

Toppings:

The options are endless as far as toppings are concerned. I tend to go with a fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, and coconut. I think bananas would be an excellent topping choice!

I added: 1/2 a kiwi, a small scoop of organic oats, a few dried gogi berries, a small scoop of flax seeds, a few chopped walnuts, and a small scoop of shredded coconut.

I have been having a lot of fun with these so far and cannot wait to share some more of my favorite bowls!

xo

Leave a Reply

